Connect with us

New England Patriots

And Then There Were Three in New England…Plus One



New England Patriots center David Andrews talks with reporters during a media availability before NFL football practice, Thursday, Dec. 14, 2023, in Foxborough, Mass. (AP Photo/Charles Krupa)

Tom Brady left the New England Patriots following the 2019 NFL season. He was the last member of the Patriots to have played on their first three Super Bowl championship teams. With Matthew Slater’s retirement earlier this offseason, the last player left from the Super Bowl 49 team that beat the Seattle Seahawks was gone. The fifth Lombardi Trophy in Foxboro is now the most recent one with players still on New England’s roster. With the return of a quarterback, a fourth champ from 2016 is now back as well.

A look at some of the last remaining players from the Patriots dynasty.

David Andrews, Center

New England signed the Georgia Bulldog as an undrafted free agent following the 2015 NFL Draft. Despite going undrafted, Andrews earned a starting spot as a rookie. He has been a mainstay on the Patriots offensive line ever since. Andrews was the starting center on both the Super Bowl 51 and Super Bowl 53 champions.

David Andrews has been a team captain for the past seven seasons for the New England Patriots. He has also been a leader off the field. He was given the Ron Hobson “Good Guy” Award for his cooperation with the Patriots media this past season. The Patriots nominated Andrews for the Art Rooney Award this past season as well. The award represents, “great sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for opponents, and integrity in competition.”

Joe Cardona, Long Snapper

The Patriots selected Cardona in the fifth round of the 2015 NFL Draft (No. 166 overall) out of Navy. A long snappy from the Naval Academy selected in the draft was ridiculed as “only a move Bill Belichick would make.” Now entering his tenth NFL season, all in New England, Joe Cardona is tied for the longest-tenured player on the Patriots. Only 57 of the 165 players drafted before him were active in 2023.

Cardona has played in 157 of 160 games, including postseason. He missed three games in 2022 but otherwise has perfect attendance for the Patriots. He’s been a member of two Super Bowl winners in New England. This past season the NFL honored Cardona as the winner of their Salute to Service Award.

Jonathan Jones, Cornerback

Another undrafted free agent, Jones was signed by the Patriots following the 2016 NFL Draft. He won a Super Bowl as a rookie and a second one two years later. Jonathan Jones has played in 123 games, including the postseason. Jones began as a special teams player but worked his way into the cornerback rotation. But in his second Super Bowl championship run in 2018, Jones was playing 49% of the defensive snaps. He has remained one of the team’s most reliable defensive players ever since.

Like Andrews and Cardona, Jonathan Jones’ contributions do not end on the playing field. He was the New England Patriots nominee for the 2023 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. He also won the Patriots Ron Burton Community Service Award.

Jacoby Brissett, Quarterback

Brissett is the “plus one” in this group. He was a member of the 2016 team that came back from 28-3 down against the Atlanta Falcons. However, New England traded Brissett to Indianapolis after his rookie season, in which he won a Super Bowl. He has since had stints with the Colts, Browns, and Commanders. Jacoby Brissett re-signed with the New England Patriots earlier this month. His return gives New England four players back on the team from that Super Bowl 51 squad.

Patriots News in Your Inbox

Enter your email address to sign-up and get our posts sent directly to your inbox!